What has become known in common parlance as “The Interspiritual Declaration” includes the various Points of Agreement arising over the last decades from the growing global Interspiritual phenomenon. These are below with the sources of the conferences, associations, organizations and publications that have assembled this consensus over the last number of years.


Points of Agreement
  1. The Nine Points of Agreement (source, the 30-yr. Snowmass Interspiritual Dialogue)[1]
  2. The Nine Elements of a Universal Spirituality (source, Bro. Wayne Teasdale, The Mystic Heart: Discovering a Universal Spirituality in the World’s Religions)[2]
  3. The Elements of Interspiritual Education (source, Community of The Mystic Heart with One Spirit Interfaith Seminary, as published in Johnson and Ord)[3]
  4. The Eight Shifts Needed in World Consciousness (source, Bro. Wayne Teasdale, The Mystic Heart: Discovering a Universal Spirituality in the World’s Religions as published in Johnson and Ord)[4]
  5. Evolutionary Developmental Elements (Teasdale’s major 1999 points as summarized by Johnson and Ord 2013)[5]

1. The Nine Points of Agreement:

  1. The world religions bear witness to the experience of Ultimate Reality to which they give various names: Brahman, Allah, (the) Absolute, God, Great Spirit.
  2. Ultimate Reality cannot be limited by any name or concept.
  3. Ultimate Reality is the ground of infinite potentiality and actualization.
  4. Faith is opening, accepting, and responding to Ultimate Reality. Faith in this sense precedes every belief system.
  5. The potential for human wholeness—or in other frames of reference, enlightenment, salvation, transformation, blessedness, nirvana—is present in every human.
  6. Ultimate Reality may be experienced not only through religious practices but also through nature, art, human relationships, and service to others.
  7. As long as the human condition is experienced as separate from Ultimate Reality, it remains subject to ignorance, illusion, weakness, and suffering.
  8. Disciplined practice is essential to the spiritual life; yet spiritual attainment isn’t the result of one’s own efforts, but the result of the experience of oneness (unity) with Ultimate Reality.
  9. Prayer is communion with Ultimate Reality, whether it’s regarded as personal, impersonal (transpersonal), or beyond both.

2. The Nine Elements of a Universal Spirituality:

  1. Actualizing full moral and ethical capacity
  2. Living in harmony with the cosmos and all living beings
  3. Cultivating a life of deep nonviolence
  4. Living in humility and gratitude
  5. Embracing a regular spiritual practice
  6. Cultivating mature self-knowledge
  7. Living a life of simplicity
  8. Being of selfless service and compassionate action
  9. Empowering the prophetic voice for justice, compassion, and world transformation.

3. Elements of Interspiritual Education:

  1. Teaching interspirituality itself (the journey from interfaith to experiential interspirituality)
  2. Teaching sacred activism (the inherent connection of being and doing)
  3. Cultivating higher consciousness (unity consciousness as an actual experience)
  4. Nurturing individual formation (personal maturation in authentic universal spirituality)
  5. Teaching integral (the integral vision and the developmental view of history)
  6. Community building (building authentic communities of all kinds)
  7. Ministry development (developing interfaith and interspiritual ministry from conventional roles—in religious institutions, chaplaincy, hospice—to entrepreneurial initiatives, creating new roles for interfaith and interspiritual ministry).

4. The Eight Needed World Shifts in Consciousness

  1. Appreciation of the interdependence of all realms of human life and the surrounding cosmos
  2. Growing ecological awareness, with recognition of the interdependence of humankind and the biosphere, including the rights of all biological species
  3. Dedication to nonviolence, with a commitment to transcend militancy and violence tied to national or religious identities
  4. Embracing of the shared wisdom in all the world’s religious and spiritual traditions, past and present
  5. Growing friendship, and actual community, among the individual followers of the world’s religious and spiritual paths
  6. Commitment to the depths of the contemplative pursuit and the mutual sharing of the fruits of this ongoing journey
  7. Creative cultivation of transnational, transcultural, trans-traditional, and world-centric understanding
  8. Receptivity to a cosmic vision, realizing humanity is only one life form and part of a larger community, the universe.

5. Evolutionary Developmental Elements

  1. Human consciousness and heart have been evolving toward a maximum potential regarding the kind of being humans can be and what kind of an earth we can create
  2. This has been going on since the known origin of the cosmos, as material evolution and as evolution of consciousness
  3. This is recognized in a fundamental tenant of the interspiritual vision, that the evolution of world religions has been one unfolding experience reflecting the gradual growth of human maturity
  4. This trend is anchored in the universally unfolding experience of “unity consciousness” or “awakening,” the experience of profound interconnectedness, no separation, and the world of the heart
  5. This unity consciousness has been emerging through all the world’s spiritual traditions
  6. Historically we have witnessed this unfolding in myriad identifiable threads in the world’s philosophies and religions
  7. This unfolding has implications for how we develop our collective skills so that this consciousness can manifest in the world in tangible skill-sets working toward global transformation
  8. This has implications for the innumerable realms and arenas of endeavor, represented by all humanity.
[1] Updated from The Common Heart (2006) to add the ninth point from subsequent dialogues and using the combined words of Snowmass and Teasdale, as published in The Coming Interspiritual Age (2013).
[2] Short version as adapted from Teasdale by The Community of The Mystic Heart (Teasdale’s colleagues network) and published in The Coming Interspiritual Age (2013). The original Nine Elements were not listed by Teasdale in a list but used as subtitles (with additional comments) in The Mystic Heart (1999).
[3] As published in The Coming Interspiritual Age from the points originally elucidated by One Spirit Interfaith Seminary (New York City) and The Community of the Mystic Heart (Teasdale’s colleagues network).
[4] Teasdales (1999) list of (Mystic Heart, p. 4-5) as further used by The Community of The Mystic Heart (Teasdale’s colleague’s network) and published in Johnson and Ord (2013)
[5] Teasdale’s major points, scattered across his inspirational (and less structured) writing style were gathered and summarized in The Coming Interspiritual Age by Johnson and Ord, 2013).
Miles-Yepez, Netanel [Ed.]. 2006. The Common Heart: An Experience of Interreligious Dialogue. Brooklyn NY: Lantern Books.
Teasdale, Wayne. 1999. The Mystic Heart: Discovering a Universal Spirituality in the World’s Religions. Novato CA: New World Library.
Johnson, Kurt and David Robert Ord. 2013. The Coming Interspiritual Age. Vancouver CN: Namaste Publishing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *